7.28.2015

THE SECRETS OF LAKE ROAD by Karen Katchur


THE SECRETS OF LAKE ROAD

by Karen Katchur

published August 4, 2015 by Thomas Dunne Books (St. Martin's Press)

_____

A haunting story about the destructive power of secrets, this accomplished and gripping suspenseful women's fiction debut is perfect for fans of Lisa Scottoline and Heather Gudenkauf

Jo has been hiding the truth about her role in her high school boyfriend’s drowning for sixteen years. Every summer, she drops her children off with her mother at the lakeside community where she spent summers growing up, but cannot bear to stay herself; everything about the lake reminds her of the guilt she feels. For her daughter Caroline, however, the lake is a precious world apart; its familiarity and sameness comforts her every year despite the changes in her life outside its bounds. At twelve years old and caught between childhood and adolescence, she longs to win her mother’s love and doesn’t understand why Jo keeps running away.

Then seven-year-old Sara Starr goes missing from the community beach. Rescue workers fail to uncover any sign of her—but instead dredge up the bones Jo hoped would never be discovered, shattering the quiet lakeside community’s tranquility. Caroline was one of the last people to see Sara alive on the beach, and feels responsible for her disappearance. She takes it upon herself to figure out what happened to the little girl. As Caroline searches for Sara, she uncovers the secrets her mother has been hiding, unraveling the very foundation of everything she knows about herself and her family. The Secrets of Lake Road by Karen Katchur is a riveting novel that is impossible to put down and hard to forget.
_____

7.23.2015

LOVE LIES BENEATH by Ellen Hopkins


LOVE LIES BENEATH

by Ellen Hopkins

published July 21, 2015 by Atria (Simon & Schuster)

_____


From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Collateral comes a gripping novel about a woman caught in a love affair that could be her salvation...or her undoing.

Tara is gorgeous, affluent, and forty. She lives in an impeccably restored Russian Hill mansion in San Francisco. Once a widow, twice divorced, she’s a woman with a past she prefers keeping to herself.

Enter Cavin Lattimore. He’s handsome, kind, charming, and the surgeon assigned to Tara following a ski accident in Lake Tahoe. In the weeks it takes her to recover, Cavin sweeps her off her feet and their relationship blossoms into something Tara had never imagined possible. But then she begins to notice some strange things: a van parked outside her home at odd times, a break-in, threatening text messages and emails. She also starts to notice cracks in Cavin’s seemingly perfect personality, like the suppressed rage his conniving teenage son brings out in him, and the discovery that Cavin hired a detective to investigate her immediately after they met.

Now on crutches and housebound, Tara finds herself dependent on the new man in her life—perhaps too much so. She’s handling rocky relationships with her sister and best friend, who are envious of her glamour and freedom; her prickly brother-in-law, who is intimidated by her wealth and power; and her estranged mother. However perfect Tara’s life appears, things are beginning to get messy.

Writing in beautiful prose, Ellen Hopkins unveils a new style while evoking her signature poetic form that readers fell in love with in Collateral and Triangles.


_____

7.08.2015

THE 5th WAVE by Rick Yancey


THE 5th WAVE
(THE 5th WAVE, #1)

by Rick Yancey

published by Putnam


_____

After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one.

Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker.

Beguiling and mysterious, Evan Walker may be Cassie’s only hope for rescuing her brother—or even saving herself. But Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up.
_____

7.07.2015

ALL THE RAGE by Courtney Summers


ALL THE RAGE

by Courtney Summers

published in April 2014 by St. Martin's Press

_____

The sheriff’s son, Kellan Turner, is not the golden boy everyone thinks he is, and Romy Grey knows that for a fact. Because no one wants to believe a girl from the wrong side of town, the truth about him has cost her everything—friends, family, and her community. Branded a liar and bullied relentlessly by a group of kids she used to hang out with, Romy’s only refuge is the diner where she works outside of town. No one knows her name or her past there; she can finally be anonymous. But when a girl with ties to both Romy and Kellan goes missing after a party, and news of him assaulting another girl in a town close by gets out, Romy must decide whether she wants to fight or carry the burden of knowing more girls could get hurt if she doesn’t speak up. Nobody believed her the first time—and they certainly won’t now — but the cost of her silence might be more than she can bear. 

With a shocking conclusion and writing that will absolutely knock you out,All the Rage examines the shame and silence inflicted upon young women after an act of sexual violence, forcing us to ask ourselves: In a culture that refuses to protect its young girls, how can they survive?

_____

7.06.2015

THE DEATH CURE by James Dashner

THE DEATH CURE
(THE MAZE RUNNER, #3)

by James Dashner

published by Ember


THE SCORCH TRIALS by James Dashner


THE SCORCH TRIALS
(THE MAZE RUNNER, #2)

by James Dashner

published by Ember

THE MAZE RUNNER by James Dashner


THE MAZE RUNNER
(THE MAZE RUNNER, #1)

by James Dashner

published by Ember


hey!

hey, all!

I'm going to start incorporating some changes to the blog.

1) first of all, if you've noticed, I've changed the header and the background! I really like the new images--I feel like they're more sophisticated, which my blog will become with the integration of more adult fiction reviews, in addition to YA.

2) I'm incorporating a new rating system! I've grown tired of the standard 5-star (or, in my case, owl) system, so I'm switching to a 10-point scale, with images like this:





I made these images myself out of a colored circle by adding the text. I'm looking forward to integrating these changes and revamping the blog!

leave a comment if you feel like it and let me know what you think about it!


-hayden

THOSE GIRLS by Chevy Stevens


THOSE GIRLS

by Chevy Stevens

to be released July 7, 2015 from St. Martin's Press

_____

Chevy Stevens is back with her most powerful, emotional thriller yet— a story of survival…and revenge. 
Life has never been easy for the three Campbell sisters. Jess, Courtney, and Dani live on a remote ranch in Western Canada where they work hard and try to stay out of the way of their father’s fists. One night, a fight gets out of hand and the sisters are forced to go on the run, only to get caught in an even worse nightmare when their truck breaks down in a small town. Events spiral out of control and a chance encounter with the wrong people leaves them in a horrific and desperate situation. They are left with no choice but to change their names and create new lives. 
Eighteen years later, they are still trying to forget what happened that summer when one of the sisters goes missing and they are pulled back into their past. 
This time there’s nowhere left to run. 
As much of a thriller as it is a deep exploration of the bonds among sisters, THOSE GIRLS is an unforgettable portrait of desperation, loyalty, and evil.

_____

4.28.2015

OBLIVION by Kelly Creagh



OBLIVION (NEVERMORE, #3)

by Kelly Creagh

to be published July 28, 2015 by Simon & Schuster / Atheneum



Thanks to Simon & Schuster for the advanced copy!

"But . . . ," Isobel murmured, her voice quavering, suddenly weak, "you wouldn't. I know you wouldn't. I know you."

"For your sake, my dear Isobel, I very much hope you do. Because we certainly no longer recognize ourselves."*

Kelly Creagh's Nevermore is one of my favorite books of all time, and with Oblivion, the finale of the beloved trilogy, I am reminded why. Filled to the brim with constant pulse-pounding action, there is not a dull moment as we race to Isobel's and Varen's conclusion. 

As always, Creagh's writing is absolutely mesmerizing--I found myself occasionally forgetting to pay attention to what was being said because of how beautifully it was being said.

I am sad to see Isobel's and Varen's beautiful story end, but I know it's for the best. I will be reading the amazing Nevermore trilogy many times over in the future.

"This place, wherever it was - whatever it was - equated to insanity."*


*These quotes are taken from the advance copy of Oblivion and may change before print.

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...